Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.

The Doctor and the Diva

The Doctor and the Diva Cover

The Doctor and the Diva

By Adrienne McDonnell

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143119302, 422pp.

Publication Date: October 25, 2011

Advertisement
Description
Inspired by a true story a breathtaking novel of romantic obsession, longing, and one woman's choice between motherhood and her operatic career calling
It is 1903, and Erika von Kessler has struggled for years to become pregnant. Resigned to childlessness, Erika a talented opera singer and the wife of a prominent Boston businessman secretly plans to move to Italy to pursue her musical career. The charismatic Doctor Ravell is a rising fertility specialist. When Erika becomes his patient, he is mesmerized by her elegance and extraordinary voice and finds himself taking an impetuous risk that could ruin them both.
Stunningly realized and inspired by Adrienne McDonnell's own family history, The Doctor and the Diva moves from snowy Boston to the tropical forests of the Caribbean to the gilded balconies of Florence. It is searing historical fiction a tale of opera, the indomitable power of romantic obsession, and a woman's irreconcilable desires as she is forced to choose between the child she has always yearned for and the artistic career she cannot live without. Fans of Ann Patchett's Bel Canto and Nancy Horan's Loving Frank will be moved by this novel's bittersweet beauty.


About the Author
Adrienne McDonnell has taught literature and fiction writing at the University of California, Berkeley. The Doctor and the Diva is based in part on the true story of her son s great-great grandmother. McDonnell was inspired by hundreds of pages of family letters and memories of elderly relatives, long haunted by the story. Chosen by the American Booksellers Association as an Indie Next Notable Book, rights to the The Doctor and the Diva have sold in ten countries. McDonnell lives near San Francisco. The Doctor and the Diva is her first novel."


Praise For The Doctor and the Diva

“Some novels just naturally enslave you, and this is one of them. . . . Serious and gripping . . . [a] brilliant debut novel.”
The Washington Post

“Desire has a dangerous side, a fact this sumptuous novel delights in . . . [An] explosive tale. Read the book now, then place bets on when the movie version will come out.”
Redbook

“The tugs of work and family propel this engrossing tale.”
Good Housekeeping (Book Pick)

“This amazing debut novel . . . is, quite simply, one of the best novels I’ve read all year.”
The Historical Novels Review (Editor’s Choice)

The Doctor and the Diva is so beautifully written and lushly set it was impossible for me to put down, and the characters continue to haunt me long after I turned the last page.”
Sara Gruen, bestselling author of Water for Elephants and Ape House

“An incredibly moving tale of passion, regret, and ultimate triumph. I loved it. Adrienne McDonnell has created some of the most memorable characters I’ve ever met. A superb achievement.”
Julie Garwood, bestselling author of Hotshot

Advertisement