Charles Dickens

A Life

By Jane Smiley
(Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143119920, 224pp.)

Publication Date: November 29, 2011

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

For fans of the soon-to-be-released film about Charles Dickens starring Ralph Fiennes, a brilliantly insightful biography from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jane Smiley
 
With delectable wit and characteristic sensitivity, Jane Smiley presents a fresh, illuminating take on the life of Charles Dickens. Smiley finds a kindred spirit in the author of such classics as Great Expectations and A Christmas Carol, who was not only a prolific writer but also one of the first modern "celebrities." She offers interpretations of many of Dickens's major works, exploring his narrative techniques and his innovative voice and themes. A perceptive profile of the great master and a fascinating meditation on the writing life, this biography is perfect for fans of The Invisible Woman, the Charles Dickens biopic starring Ralph Fiennes, Felicity Jones, and Kristin Scott Thomas, which hits theaters in February 2014.




About the Author

Jane Smiley is the author of numerous novels, including the Pulitzer Prize winner A Thousand Acres and the bestsellers Horse Heaven, Good Faith, and Ten Days in the Hills. She lives in Northern California.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile