Charles Dickens

Charles Dickens Cover

Charles Dickens

A Life

By Jane Smiley

Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143119920, 212pp.

Publication Date: November 29, 2011

Description
For fans of the soon-to-be-released film about Charles Dickens starring Ralph Fiennes, a brilliantly insightful biography from Pulitzer Prize-winning author Jane Smiley
With delectable wit and characteristic sensitivity, Jane Smiley presents a fresh, illuminating take on the life of Charles Dickens. Smiley finds a kindred spirit in the author of such classics as "Great Expectations" and "A Christmas Carol," who was not only a prolific writer but also one of the first modern "celebrities." She offers interpretations of many of Dickens's major works, exploring his narrative techniques and his innovative voice and themes. A perceptive profile of the great master and a fascinating meditation on the writing life, this biography is perfect for fans of "The Invisible Woman, " the Charles Dickens biopic starring Ralph Fiennes, Felicity Jones, and Kristin Scott Thomas, which hits theaters in February 2014.


About the Author
Jane Smiley is the author of nine previous works of fiction, including The Age of Grief, The Greenlanders, Ordinary Love & Good Will, A Thousand Acres (for which she was awarded the Pulitzer Prize), and Moo. She lives in northern California.