A Dangerous Fiction

By Barbara Rogan
(Penguin Books, Paperback, 9780143125655, 324pp.)

Publication Date: July 29, 2014

List Price: $15.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
When a glamorous literary agent falls prey to a violent stalker, she discovers that the publishing biz can really be murder, for fans of "The Spellman Files "and "Maisie Dobbs"
"Suspenseful . . . Barbara Rogan cleverly explores . . . our capacity for self-deception and weaves it into an absorbing mystery that keeps its secret until the very end."
--NPR
Jo Donovan always manages to come out on top. Originally from the backwoods of Appalachia, she forged a hard path to elegant lunches and parties among New York City's literati. At thirty-five, she's the widow of the renowned novelist (and notorious playboy) Hugo Donovan, the owner of one of the best literary agencies in town, and is one of the most sought-after agents in the business. But all this is about to fall apart, as a would-be client turns stalker, a hack shops around a proposal for an unauthorized tell-all biography of Hugo, and a handsome old flame shows up without warning.
Both a seasoned author and a former literary agent herself, Barbara Rogan knows the publishing world from all angles. Fans of Lisa Lutz and Jaqueline Winspear will adore Jo Donovan and Rogan's wickedly sharp tale that skewers the dangerous fictions we read--and the dangerous fictions we tell ourselves.



About the Author
Barbara Rogan was born in New York City and grew up on Long Island. After working for a New York City publisher, she moved to Tel Aviv and a year later established a literary agency that would become the primary conduit for books published in Israel as well as Israeli writers published abroad. During that period, she served on the Board of Directors of the Jerusalem Book Fair, and her first novel was published. In 1994, she sold the agency and returned to New York. She has written eight novels and co-authored two nonfiction books. Her fiction has been translated into six languages. She has taught fiction writing at Hofstra University and SUNY, and currently teaches for Writers Digest University and in her own online school, Nextlevelworkshop.com. The mother of two grown sons, she lives on Long Island with her husband and a German shepherd known as the Work in Progress.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile