Thorn Ogres of Hagwood

The Hagwood Trilogy, Book One

By Robin Jarvis
(Harcourt Children's Books, Hardcover, 9780152167523, 256pp.)

Publication Date: October 2002

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



The werlings' shape-changing ability has always kept them safe, but never before have they faced such evil. Deep in the ancient forest of Hagwood, the dark forces of magic are gathering, and the High Lady of Hollow Hill is on the prowl. This breathtakingly beautiful--and ruthlessly evil--queen is looking for the thief who has stolen her most prized possession. Her search has led her and her nightmarish thorn ogres right to the werlings. What will save them now?
This first tale in an exciting new series from acclaimed fantasy author Robin Jarvis is riveting from the very first word.

About the Author

ROBIN JARVIS has written many books for children, including the popular Deptford Mice trilogy. He lives in Greenwich, England.

Praise For Thorn Ogres of Hagwood

"Robin Jarvis has created a marvelous, mysterious new landscape, peopled with characters who truly come alive."--T. A. Barron
"Most intriguing is Gamaliel Tumpin--a werling with a pinch of Harry Potter and a dash of Frodo Baggins. . . . Thorn Ogres of Hagwood is a rattling good fantasy adventure."--Robert D. San Souci

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

Update Profile