Dog Company

The Boys of Pointe du Hoc--the Rangers Who Accomplished D-Day's Toughest Mission and Led the Way across Europe

By Patrick K. O'Donnell
(Da Capo Press, Hardcover, 9780306820298, 320pp.)

Publication Date: November 2012

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Compact Disc, Compact Disc, MP3 CD

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of Band of Brothers, Patrick K. O’Donnell tells one of World War II’s greatest untold stories




About the Author

Patrick K. O'Donnell is a military historian and the award-winning author of seven books, including the bestseller and William E. Colby Award winner Beyond Valor, Give Me Tomorrow, and We Were One, the highly acclaimed account of the Battle of Fallujah. He has provided historical consulting for DreamWorks' award-winning miniseries Band of Brothers and for documentaries produced by the BBC, the History Channel, and Fox News. Visit him at www.patrickkodonnell.com and at www.facebook.com/patrickkodonnell




Praise For Dog Company

Alex Kershaw, New York Times best-selling author of The Liberator
"Long admired for his powerful combat narratives, with Dog Company O’Donnell has produced his finest book yet. A fascinating tale of extraordinary heroism."

John C. McManus, author of September Hope
"An intimate history in the Band of Brothers tradition. Only a gifted combat historian like Patrick O'Donnell could bring Dog Company’s story to life with such stunning immediacy and well researched accuracy. Chock full of pulse pounding action and keen insight, this book is a true page-turner."

Joseph Balkoski, author of Omaha Beach
"No World War II historian can tell the story of the U.S. Army Rangers better than Pat O’Donnell, and in his book Dog Company he has managed to relate the remarkable history of a single Ranger company in an informative and entertaining way. It is a great read, and I recommend it highly, both to history buffs and those with only a passing interest in America’s past."

Flint Whitlock, author of If Chaos Reigns
"Wow! Another victory for Patrick O’Donnell, who really captures the spirit of this elite group of Rangers&mdashpossibly the toughest fighting force America has ever put together. Dog Company is every bit as good as Stephen Ambrose’s Band of Brothers, and likely even better.”

General Doug Brown USA (Ret.) Commander of U.S. Special Operations Command 2003-2007
"This is an incredible story of courage under fire, leadership at all levels and bravery beyond comprehension. The bravery and leadership of Dog Company lives on in today’s Army Rangers as they take the fight to America’s enemies in the Global War on Terror. This is the story of real American heroes and no one can tell the story better than Patrick K. O’Donnell."

Douglas Waller, author of Wild Bill Donovan: The Spymaster Who Created the OSS and Modern American Espionage
"Patrick O’Donnell has set the gold standard for war histories rich in color, drama and detail. With Dog Company, he’s hit that high mark once more. Drawing on a trove of government reports plus hundreds of in-depth interviews with the men who fought, O’Donnell takes you from the scaling of Pointe du Hoc’s murderous cliffs on the Normandy coast to the Battle of the Bulge and into the rubble of Germany. World War II comes to life through the eyes of this one company of intrepid U.S. Army Rangers."

Clive Cussler, New York Times bestselling author
"A great American writer."

Rick Atkinson, Pulitzer prize winning author of Day of Battle
"Remarkable and very readable...vivid."

Kirkus Reviews, 10/1/12“[An] inspiring story…O'Donnell engagingly describes how a dedicated team was built out of the specialist training it received, but he is at his best presenting the fortunes and shocks of battle as the months of planning and training were blown away in a series of mischances that also fortuitously safeguarded the unit from delayed pre-invasion bombing runs…A worthy tribute honoring each member of a small group of volunteers who responded to the call of duty.”

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile