The November Criminals

A novel

By Sam Munson
(Anchor, Paperback, 9780307474827, 272pp.)

Publication Date: April 5, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A dark and hilarious pot-infused novel of teenage maladjustment from a compelling new voice in American fiction.
 
For a high school senior Addison Schacht has a lot of preoccupations, like selling drugs to his classmates, getting into college, and his complicated relationship with his best friend (NOT his girlfriend) Digger. And he's just added another to the list: the murder of his classmate Kevin Broadus, and his own obsessive plan to investigate the death. When presented with an essay question on his application to the University of Chicago--What are your best and worst qualities?--Addison finds himself provoked into giving his final, unapologetic say about all of the above and more, and the thrilling result is an unforgettable trip through the Washington, D.C. teenage underworld.




About the Author

Sam Munson’s writing has appeared in the New York Times and the Times Literary Supplement, among numerous other venues. He lives in New York City.




Praise For The November Criminals

“A clever debut.”—The Daily Beast
 
“Munson keeps things lightly dark.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“A compelling character. . . . In the tradition of Huck and Holden.”—Bookforum
 
“Rather hilarious. . . . Irresistible.”—Booklist
 
“Combines a classic sense of adolescent alienation and a keen comedic voice.”—Kirkus

"Has the inventive, expansive flare of Michael Chabon's best writing and the highbrow-crime intrigue of a Donna Tartt book."—Vanity Fair
 
Sam Munson has written one of the funniest, most heartfelt novels in recent memory—a book every bit as worthy of Mark Twain and J. D. Salinger.“—Chicago Tribune
 
“A thoughtful coming-of-age story and an engaging teenage noir. . . . [Sam Munson is an] audacious new writer.”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“Munson is a freewheeling stylist. . . . [Addison] Schacht really is Holden [Caulfield]’s amoral 21st-century cousin.”—The Washington Post

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








More than 150 writers from 40 events will gather in New York City for PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, April 28 – May 4, 2014.

For its 10th anniversary, the festival celebrates those who have dared to stand β€˜on the edge,’ risking their careers, and sometimes their lives, to speak out for their art and beliefs. Join us for a wide range of events, including debates, one-on-one conversations, participatory workshops and performances in venues throughout the city. Use the code PEN14 (use PEN2014 for events at The Public Theater) and receive a 20 percent discount on most events. www.worldvoicesfestival.org

Update Profile