Rump

The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

By Liesl Shurtliff
(Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780307977939, 264pp.)

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Spring '13 Kids List
“In a land where names mean everything, 'Rump' isn't what you want to be called. But this incomplete name is all that was heard before Rump's mother died, leaving him to search for his own destiny ' and that, of course, involves spinning straw into gold and bargaining for a girl's first-born child. This retelling of Rumpelstiltskin stands out for its imagination and characterization, and readers will be rooting for Rump like they never did for the man in the fairy tale.”
-- Melissa Oates, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC


Description
This funny fractured fairy tale goesbehind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."
In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke.But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she's right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.
To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship and a cheeky sense of humor he just might triumph in the end.
A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, "Rump" is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's "Ella Enchanted"or Adam Gidwitz's "A Tale Dark and Grimm."
"""Lighthearted and inventive, "Rump"amusingly expands a classic tale." Brandon Mull, #1"New York Times"bestselling author of"Fablehaven.



Praise For Rump

People Magazine, August 12, 2013:
"A fresh riff on the Grimm Brothers' Rumpelstiltskin, told with wit from the impish point of view of the troublemaker himself."

The Denver Post, May 6, 2013:
“A startlingly original book.”

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, March 15, 2013:
“As good as gold.”

School Library Journal, May, 2013:
“A beguiling take on a classic tale.... This captivating fantasy has action, emotional depth, and lots of humor.”

BookPage, April 9, 2013:
“Shurtliff takes the traditional fairy tale and turns it on its head, interspersing humor with tenderness, action with insight. Rump shows the other side of Rumpelstiltskin, one of the most vilified characters in fairy tales, and reminds readers that in a good story, very little is as it seems.”

"Liesl Shurtliff does more than spin words into gold—she gets us rooting for Rumpelstiltskin, a most magical feat."
—Kirby Larson, Newbery Honor-winning author of Hattie Big Sky

"
Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale."
—Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven


Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile