Rump

The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin

By Liesl Shurtliff
(Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780307977939, 264pp.)

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Spring '13 Kids List
“In a land where names mean everything, 'Rump' isn't what you want to be called. But this incomplete name is all that was heard before Rump's mother died, leaving him to search for his own destiny ' and that, of course, involves spinning straw into gold and bargaining for a girl's first-born child. This retelling of Rumpelstiltskin stands out for its imagination and characterization, and readers will be rooting for Rump like they never did for the man in the fairy tale.”
-- Melissa Oates, Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC


Description

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.

To break the spell, Rump must go on a perilous quest, fighting off pixies, trolls, poison apples, and a wickedly foolish queen. The odds are against him, but with courage and friendship—and a cheeky sense of humor—he just might triumph in the end.

A Texas Bluebonnet Master List Selection, Rump is perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or Adam Gidwitz's A Tale Dark and Grimm.

"Lighthearted and inventive, Rump amusingly expands a classic tale." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile