Forests of the Night

By James W. Hall
(Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9780312271800, 352pp.)

Publication Date: December 23, 2004

Other Editions of This Title: Mass Market Paperback, Compact Disc, Hardcover, Compact Disc, MP3 CD, MP3 CD, Compact Disc

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In the tradition of James Dickey’s Deliverance and Charles Frazier’s Cold Mountain, bestselling author and award-winning poet James W. Hall has written a literary novel that is also an intricate, suspenseful mystery—a story blending the macabre and the historic, the genteel and the aberrant, the violent and the heroic. With his signature mix of brooding atmosphere and compelling action, Hall takes readers deep into America’s own Heart of Darkness.

Policewoman Charlotte Monroe has cop instincts. Scratch that. There isn’t a name for the gift she has, something that borders on psychic, an ability to read people’s faces and body language like the morning headlines—to size up their intentions and act before they do.

It’s a real ability that the FBI is trying to teach to its agents. The bureau is spending millions so they’ll know the difference between a slightly raised eyebrow and a faint twitch of the lip. But Charlotte’s a natural with god-given abilities, and the Feds want her in the worst way, maybe even to the point of blackmail.

Still, Charlotte’s gift fails to prepare her for the stranger who shows up on her doorstep with a chilling warning for her husband, a mysterious note scrawled in Cherokee hieroglyphics and a promise of things to come: “You’re Next.”

The warning becomes more ominous as Charlotte and her husband, Parker, discover the complex truth about this man, including his position on the FBI Most Wanted list and his connection to their family.

When Charlotte’s deeply troubled teenage daughter runs away to join the charismatic outlaw, she follows the two of them into the spectral mists of the Great Smoky Mountains—and to the beating heart of a 150-year-old blood feud that will endanger everything she loves and challenge everything she believes.




About the Author

With his wife, Evelyn, and his dogs, Carrie and Stella, James W. Hall travels between his homes in south Florida and North Carolina. For the last 29 years, he has taught literature and creative writing at Florida International University, where his students have included Dennis Lehane, Barbara Parker, and Vicki Hendricks. After publishing four books of poetry and several works of short fiction in such magazines as the Georgia Review and Kenyon Review, Hall began writing crime novels in 1986 with Under Cover of Daylight.




Praise For Forests of the Night

"[F]ast-paced, entertaining thriller…compelling, with action scenes that bristle with visceral intensity…the author's appreciation for history and its reverberations adds further complexity." --Publishers Weekly


"[F]ast-paced, entertaining thriller…compelling, with action scenes that bristle with visceral intensity…the author's appreciation for history and its reverberations adds further complexity." --Publishers Weekly

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile