The Parts

By Keith Ridgway
(Thomas Dunne Books, Hardcover, 9780312327699, 464pp.)

Publication Date: June 2004

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Set in present-day Dublin, The Parts interweaves six lives and six narratives. In her mansion in the mountains, millionaire widow Delly Roche is getting ready for death. Keeping her company are her companion of many years, Kitty Flood, and the discreetly insane Dr. George Addison-Blake.

So why is Delly so keen to die? What exactly is in the letter discovered by Kitty? What is Dr. George doing in the shed by the tennis courts? And does any of it have anything to do with the conspiracy theories being hinted at on Joe Kavanaugh's radio show? Down in the city, Barry, Joe's producer, is getting caught up in something and he's not quite sure why. And all the time, conducting business down by the river, doing his best to keep out of this, is Kez.

Something is about to occur.




About the Author

Keith Ridgway was born in Dublin. The Parts is his second novel. His first novel, The Long Falling was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year.




Praise For The Parts

"Keith Ridgway is well aware that nothing exciting is ever achieved through predictability. So here it is: a truly ambitious, telescopic Irish novel just at the time when such ambitions seemed kidnapped. Funny. Gorgeous. Tender. Angry. Absurd. Tough. And beautifully written. A novel about story-telling, loss, regret, greed, and the human dilemna of memory, The Parts is the sort of book that will take take the oxygen out of the air for readers of Eugenides, DeLillo, Hemon, Zadie Smith and so many others. That it is also a novel about America -- in the guise of Dublin -- is just one of Ridgway's subtle nods ... you should just hear him when he winks."
- Colum McCann, bestselling author of Dancer and This Side of Brightness

"The black in the white, like fresh-poured stout, the leucomelanous complexion of Dublin. Not partially, but entirely, genius."
--Jamie O'Neill, author of At Swim, Two Boys

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile