Bloodshot

By Stuart MacBride
(Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9780312339999, 448pp.)

Publication Date: August 7, 2007

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Nearly bouncing back from a transfer, Detective Sergeant Logan McRae is still looking at nothing but dead ends. His only chance of escaping his current post is to get noticed. Not that any of the cases he’s working on are the type that you want to get noticed for.
 For starters, someone dumped a dying man outside the hospital. McRae’s boss D.I. Roberta Steel and her team can’t get an ID on the man, the person who dropped him off, or the car. McRae's second case is hardly any better. It involves a knife-wielding eight-year-old who is not only still at large but getting all kinds of sympathy in the newspapers. That kind of press does little for the department’s accusations against Robert Macintyre, Aberdeen’s star soccer player and another media darling. WPC Jackie Watson, McRae’s girlfriend, is convinced Robert is a serial rapist, but they can’t even hold him let alone charge him when the whole city thinks he’s being framed. Catching these perps is thankless work, and even if he does, it seems like McRae’s chances of getting off Steel’s team are as bad as Aberdeen’s without their leading goal scorer.
 With his third masterful installment in a series that combines fast-paced suspense with a dark, distinctly Scottish sense of humor, Stuart MacBride has firmly established himself as a major crime-writing talent.




About the Author

STUART MACBRIDE is the author of three novels. His first, Cold Granite, won the Barry Award for Best First Novel and was shortlisted for the International Thriller Writers Award for Best First Novel as well. He lives in Aberdeen, Scotland, with his wife.




Praise For Bloodshot

Praise for Dying Light
 “What is there in the Scottish air that makes its new writers among the best in the business these days?” --Chicago Tribune
“Fans of Ian Rankin and Denise Mina will enjoy the mordant MacBride, whose second novel is every bit as dark and riveting as his debut, Cold Granite.”
---Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Any of the flamboyant evildoers in Dying Light could carry a terrific whodunit.”
---Entertainment Weekly
Praise for Cold Granite
“Stuart MacBride joins an illustrious roster of Scottish crime writers. . . . By tangling together a half-dozen competing plot lines, MacBride keeps readers off-balance, even those who think they can see the tripwires.”
---Houston Chronicle
 
“Grade: A . . . Tartan noir has a fresh new voice with an Aberdeen brogue in Stuart MacBride, whose first mystery, Cold Granite, bids well to keep up with Ian Rankin and Denise Mina. . . . I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the career of Det. Sgt. McRae.”
---Rocky Mountain News
 
“McRae is an interesting and subtle detective, and his investigation is both inventive and imaginative.”
---Dallas Morning News
 
“Unbelievably assured and accomplished . . . MacBride is starting at the very top with his first book, which approaches the level of Michael Connelly’s best work. . . . MacBride’s writing is so good here that it’s hard to believe it’s not a sign of staying power.”
---Flint Journal

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile