Unseen

A Mystery

By Mari Jungstedt; Tiina Nunnally (Translator)
(Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9780312351571, 256pp.)

Publication Date: September 5, 2006

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Swedish crime at its best---dark, atmospheric, and chilling
 
The island of Gotland is in the middle of a busy tourist season and getting ready for Midsummer, the 4th of July of Swedish holidays, when a young woman and her dog are found brutally murdered. The dog has been beheaded and is missing a paw; the woman is naked, covered in gruesome axe wounds, and her panties have been stuffed in her mouth.
            What looks like a crime committed by the victim's jealous husband keeps the local police force on their toes. Then a second victim is found. A serial killer terrorizes tourists and locals alike, and Inspector Anders Knutas has to face additional pressure from the media and local politicians who are worried about bad PR for the island.
In his quest for the murderer, he is aided by Johan Berg, an intrepid young journalist from Stockholm who has been sent to cover the incidents and who gets involved with Emma, one of the first victim's close friends. Three women die before Knutas and Berg, each approaching the case in their own way, finally close in on the killer, who has always, until now, been the one unseen by everybody.
Jungstedt has written an atmospheric and exciting first mystery in clear, unadorned prose, in the tradition of Henning Mankell, HÃ¥kan Nesser, and Karin Fossum.
 




About the Author

Mari Jungstedt has worked as a radio and TV journalist in her native Stockholm for fourteen years. This is her debut mystery, the first in a series set on the island of Gotland off the coast of Sweden, where the author spends her summers. She is married, has two children, and is currently at work on her fourth book.
 




Praise For Unseen

"Unseen has everything we have come to expect from a great Swedish crime novel--- graceful prose, deft characterization, and a setting that is somehow both familiar and strange, like a kind of dream-world.  But what makes this first novel unique is its author's ability to write with a bird's-eye view about horrible events while at the same time maintaining a poet's sense of intimacy about what her characters think and feel.  Possessing such skills as these---scope and heart, a desire to get to the truth---makes Mari Jungstedt the new writer to watch." 
---Daniel Judson, Shamus Award winner and author of The Darkest Place
 "A remarkable debut."
--Der Spiegel
"Tense, psychologically credible crime fiction that boasts both a concise plot and sympathetic and complex characters."
--literature.de
"True Swedish crime - exciting, harsh, yet sensitive."
--Hoerzu

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Confessions of a Self-Help Writer
Benjamin Dehaven
Lagniappe Publishing
Annihilation
Jeff VanderMeer
FSG Originals
The Martian
Andy Weir
Crown
Benediction
Kent Haruf
Vintage

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile