A Safe Place for Dying

A Safe Place for Dying Cover

A Safe Place for Dying

By Jack Fredrickson

Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9780312351687, 304pp.

Publication Date: November 14, 2006

Description
An extortion letter arrives at Crystal Waters, one of Chicago's wealthiest gated communities. It makes no specific threats, gives no instructions, demands only that $50,000 be gotten ready---chump change for an enclave where the cheapest house is worth three million. It's easy to see it as harmless---a note from a nut.
Then a mansion explodes. The homeowners panic, and want it hushed up. If word gets out that a bomber is targeting Crystal Waters, their multimillion-dollar homes will become worthless, a last catastrophe for people strung out from living the good life too well. They hire Dek Elstrom to investigate.
Dek Elstrom used to soar high, too, when he lived with his multimillionaire wife at Crystal Waters, but that was before the dominos of his life tipped over and his ex-wife threw him out. Now reduced to living in a crumbling stone turret, bankrupt of everything but attitude, he's not even his own ideal choice for the job. He's too broke, however, to question the motives of a gift-horse client. He needs the money---and the chance to reconnect with his ex-wife.
Another bomb goes off, and Dek realizes the culprit must be someone who is angry, needs money, and used to live at Crystal Waters. Then he realizes something else. He himself is the prime suspect.
A sly and clever caper among the richest of the rich, "A Safe Place for Dying" is for fans of Carl Hiaasen and Robert Crais.


About the Author

Jack Fredrickson has had his fiction published in Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine and anthologized by the Mystery Writers of America in Michael Connelly’s Burden of the Badge. He lives with his wife west of Chicago, where he is hard at work on the next Dek Elstrom novel.



Praise For A Safe Place for Dying

"Jack Fredrickson has created a marvelous investigator in Dek Elstrom . . . the spare, crackling dialogue reminded me of Robert B. Parker's early Spenser tales. A wildly satisfying ride."
- Jeremiah Healy, author of Turnabout and The Only Good Lawyer