The Violet Hour

By Daniel Judson
(Minotaur Books, Paperback, 9780312383589, 304pp.)

Publication Date: October 12, 2010

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

In Daniel Judson’s powerful thriller, Bridgehampton mechanic Caleb Rakowski gets paid under the table at his friend Eric Carver’s auto repair shop and lives in an apartment above it. He’s good at his job and he’s making a decent living, but right now he’s sheltering a pregnant friend who’ll do anything to keep her abusive husband away from her. Cal has sworn to protect her. Little does he know, though, the trouble destined to come down over the course of three days—Mischief Night, Halloween, and the Day of the Dead—when he learns the truth about his friend and boss Eric Carver and what he’s been hiding all these years.

Daniel Judson is a craftsman of modern noir, an incredible talent in the vein of Ellroy or Chandler. Like his previous novels, The Violet Hour is tightly drawn, hauntingly atmospheric, and completely searing.

 

 

 

 




About the Author

Daniel Judson, a Shamus Award winner and three-time finalist, is the author of four previous novels, most recently The Water’s Edge. He attended Southampton College, and his time in the Hamptons (particularly the parts that don’t make the society pages) was the inspiration for the setting and characters in The Violet Hour. He now lives in Connecticut.




Praise For The Violet Hour

Praise for Daniel Judson

“[Judson] mines Long Island’ South Fork for glittering noir nuggets.”
--Publishers Weekly on The Violet Hour

“In the cutthroat game of Survivalist Poker, Cal can wheel and deal with the worst of them.”
--Kirkus Reviews on The Violet Hour

“Daniel Judson is so much more than a crime-fiction novelist. He’s a tattooed poet, a mad philosopher of the Apocalypse fascinated with exploring the darkest places in people’s souls.”
--Chicago Tribune on The Water’s Edge

“Action packed. . . . It’s noir on ice.”
--USA Today on The Darkest Place

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

FIND US ON:
IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook







Update Profile