Cracked Up to Be

Cracked Up to Be

By Courtney Summers

Griffin, Paperback, 9780312383695, 214pp.

Publication Date: December 23, 2008


Perfect Parker Fadley isn't so perfect anymore. She's quit the cheerleading squad, she's dumped her perfect boyfriend, and she's failing school. Her parents are on a constant suicide watch and her counselors think she's playing games but what they don't know, the real reason for this whole mess, isn't something she can say out loud. It isn't even something she can say to herself. A horrible thing has happened and it just might be her fault. If she can just remove herself from everybody--be totally alone--then everything will be okay...The problem is, nobody will let her.

About the Author
Courtney Summers is the author of young adult novels including "Fall for Anything", "Some Girls Are", and "Cracked Up to Be". She lives and writes in Canada, where she divides her time between a piano, a camera, and a word-processing program when she s not planning for the impending zombie apocalypse.

Praise For Cracked Up to Be

"Courtney Summers is a writer who pulls no punches and Parker Fadley is a character you won't forget.  Together, they create a novel that will keep you on edge, turning pages long into the night."--K.L Going, author of Saint Iggy "Told in beautifully rendered, spare, haunting prose...Courtney Summers has written a remarkable debut.  I thought about this one long after I'd reached the end,"--Alyson Noël, author of Saving Zoë "Summers expertly navigates the dangerous waters of high school, leading her readers on until she reveals the grim secret that led her troubled heroine to the brink of suicide. Fans of Lois Duncan and Chrisotpher Pike will appreciate this dark tale."--Martha O'Connor, author of Bitch Posse "Cracked Up To Be gives you Parker, her world, her friends, straight up, no chaser.  You won't forget her."--Kathe Koja author of Kissing The Bee