A Stranger in Mayfair

A Stranger in Mayfair Cover

A Stranger in Mayfair

By Charles Finch

Minotaur Books, Hardcover, 9780312625061, 320pp.

Publication Date: November 9, 2010

Description

Returning from a continental honeymoon with his lifelong friend and new wife, Lady Jane Grey, Charles Lenox is asked by a colleague in Parliament to consult in the murder of a footman, bludgeoned to death with a brick. His investigation uncovers both unsettling facts about the family he served and a strange, second identity that the footman himself cultivated.

Going into the boxing clubs and public houses, the Mayfair mansions and servants’ quarter of Victorian London, Lenox gradually realizes that an old friend may be implicated in the footman’s death. Soon a suspect is arrested, but Lenox has his doubts. Desperately trying to balance the opening of Parliament and what he feels sure is a dark secret, he soon discovers that the killer is someone shockingly innocuous—who may be prepared to spill blood again, even a detective’s.

In Detective Lenox, Lady Grey, and their circle of close associates, Charles Finch has created a cast of inviting, flesh-andblood characters. His evolving series, with its keen eye for period detail and razor-sharp plotting, offers readers an unparalleled brand of charm, sophistication, and suspense.



About the Author

Charles Finch is a graduate of Yale and Oxford. He is the author of the Charles Lenox mysteries, including The Fleet Street Murders and The September Society. His first novel, A Beautiful Blue Death, was nominated for an Agatha Award and was named one of Library Journal’s Best Books of 2007, one of only five mystery novels on the list. He lives in Oxford, England.



Praise For A Stranger in Mayfair

“An absolute delight . . . Finch vividly brings 1860s London to life.” —USA Today

“Readers of Anne Perry should be snatching up Finch’s books and clamoring for more.” —Library Journal (starred review)

“Perfect for fans of Lord Peter Wimsey.” —The Wichita Eagle

“A beguiling Victorian mystery.” —Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review on The Fleet Street Murders

“The best sort of historical mystery—clever, charming, full of period detail, and a delight to read.” —David Liss, author of The Devil’s Company, on A Beautiful Blue Death