The Nine Phases of Marriage

How to Make It, Break It, Keep It

By Susan Shapiro Barash
(St. Martin's Griffin, Paperback, 9780312642198, 288pp.)

Publication Date: September 18, 2012

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



From the author of  Toxic Friends—a groundbreaking look at how to understand your marriage and create a more satisfying relationship


Every marriage goes through nine phases.  It is only by understanding the course our marriages run that we can truly begin to craft the perfect relationship.  In The Nine Phases of Marriage, Susan Shapiro Barash breaks down and analyzes these phases, which are:

  • Phase One: Passion and Longing
  • Phase Two: Conforming: The Perfect Wife
  • Phase Three: Real Life: Child Centricity
  • Phase Four: Tension: One Bed: Two Dreams
  • Phase Five: Distance: Two Beds: Two Rooms
  • Phase Six: Fracturing: Midlife Divorce
  • Phase Seven: Second Chances: Remarriage and Renegotiating
  • Phase Eight: Balance: Concessions
  • Phase Nine: Successful Coupling

With this essential knowledge, spouses can successfully navigate the natural pitfalls and perils of their marriages and embark on a true partnership.

About the Author

SUSAN SHAPIRO BARASH is an established writer of nonfiction women’s issue books and has written thirteen books. She teaches gender studies at Marymount Manhattan College. A well-recognized gender expert, she is frequently sought out by newspapers, televisions shows, and radio programs to comment on women’s issues. She also blogs for The Huffington Post and Psychology Today. She lives in New York City.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

Lucky Us
Amy Bloom
Random House
Good Poems, American Places
Garrison Keillor
Penguin Books
The Paleo Kitchen
Juli Bauer; George Bryant
Victory Belt Publishing
The Great Glass Sea
Josh Weil
Grove Press

Make Your Own Wishlist

IndieBound on Twitter IndieBound on Facebook

Update Profile