The Blind Mirror

By Christopher Pike
(Tor Books, Hardcover, 9780312858957, 352pp.)

Publication Date: September 23, 2004

Other Editions of This Title: Mass Market Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

David, a twenty-eight-year-old artist, is recovering from a bad breakup with the mysterious and beautiful Sienna when he discovers a woman's dead body half-buried on the beach near Lompoc, California.

To his surprise, David is interviewed not just by the local sheriff, but by FBI agent Krane, who declares that the woman was killed in a ritualistic manner. Soon the dead woman is identified as David's ex-girlfriend, and he becomes the prime suspect in her murder. But Sienna can't be dead; she keeps leaving messages on his answering machine. And no matter how badly their relationship ended, he couldn't have killed her. She was the love of his life.

In self-defense, David begins his own investigation, trying to find out who the dead woman really is and what's behind the satanic murder. He's both helped and hindered by his friends, especially Julie, whom he had a crush on in high school and who has suddenly reappeared in his life, and the Reverend Pomus, who tries to warn David of the reality of true evil.

David's search for Sienna and the truth about her disappearance take him from coastal California to New York City to Florida-and into the darkest night of his soul.




About the Author

Christopher Pike, the bestselling author of the Remember Me and The Last Vampire series, has more than fifty novels to his credit. His previous adult novels include Sati, The Season of Passage, and The Cold One. Pike lives in Santa Barbara, California.




Praise For The Blind Mirror

"Intended for fans of Michael Crichton, Robin Cook, and Stephen King. The action flows smoothly, and the ending is satisfyingly unpredictable. A good, chilling choice and a good supernatural mystery."-VOYA on The Cold One

"Pike is a master of emotional impact. One cares about what happens to his people."--Booklist

"The Season of Passage keeps you turning pages constantly until the last one and then wishing there were more. One of the most exciting books I have ever read."--The Chicago Herald-Bloomingdale

"Pike is a master of creeping dread, relentlessly disturbing the reader with what Poe described as 'terror of the soul.' The Cold One is that rarest of horror novels, one that is visceral and intellectually stimulating at the same time."--The Washington Post Book World

"[The Cold One is] a labyrinthine tale of betrayal, unearthly romance and demonic slaughter . . . . dramatic, intricate [and] hypnotic."--Publishers Weekly

"I couldn't put this book down. The best horror novel of the year."--Rocky Mountain News on The Season of Passage

"Pike's latest outing into Anne Rice territory. A compelling and intellectually satisfying read."--Rapport on The Cold One

"Pike's prose, haunting and ethereal, wriggles its way into the psyche. Worthy of Anne Rice . . . the writing is lyrical and voluptuous. This book is one of the best I've ever read."-VOYA on The Season of Passage

"The book you hate to put down, the book you really don't want to end--that's The Cold One. A fast-paced, wild ride of love and hate, life and death. Pike's talent is evident throughout this work."-Greeley Tribune, (Colorado)

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
St. Martin's Press
New and Selected Poems
David Lehman
Scribner
Still Some Cake
James Cummins
Carnegie-Mellon University Press

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile