Terror Stories by Richard Matheson

By Richard Matheson

Tor Books, Paperback, 9780312878269, 400pp.

Publication Date: January 4, 2003


Remember that murderous semi chasing Dennis Weaver down a lonely stretch of desert highway?

"Duel," Steven Spielberg's acclaimed first film, was adapted by Richard Matheson from his unforgettable story of the same name.

But "Duel" is only one of the classic suspense tales in this outstanding collection of stories by the Grand Master of Horror, which also contains Matheson's legendary first story, "Born of Man and Woman," as well as several stunning shockers that inspired memorable episodes of The Twilight Zone, including "Little Girl Lost," "Steel," and "Third from the Sun."

Like Matheson's previous collection, "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet," this collection is an indispensable treasure trove of terror from the "New York Times" bestselling author of "I Am Legend" and "What Dreams May Come.

About the Author
Richard Matheson is the "New York Times" bestselling author of "I Am Legend, Hell House, Somewhere in Time, The Incredible Shrinking Man, A Stir of Echoes, The Beardless Warriors, The Path, Seven Steps to Midnight, Now You See It . . .," and "What Dreams May Come," A Grand Master of Horror and past winner of the Bram Stoker Award for Lifetime Achievement, he has also won the Edgar, the Hugo, the Spur, and the Writer's Guild awards.
He lives in Calabasas, California.

Praise For Duel

"Richard Matheson is worth our time, attention, and great affection."-from the Appreciation by Ray Bradbury