For the Benefit of Those Who See

Dispatches from the World of the Blind

By Rosemary Mahoney
(Little Brown and Company, Hardcover, 9780316043427, 304pp.)

Publication Date: January 14, 2014

List Price: $27.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

"In this intelligent and humane book, Rosemary Mahoney writes of people who are blind....She reports on their courage and gives voice, time and again, to their miraculous dignity."--Andrew Solomon, author of Far From the Tree
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks's The Island of the Colorblind, Rosemary Mahoney tells the story of Braille Without Borders, the first school for the blind in Tibet, and of Sabriye Tenberken, the remarkable blind woman who founded the school. Fascinated and impressed by what she learned from the blind children of Tibet, Mahoney was moved to investigate further the cultural history of blindness. As part of her research, she spent three months teaching at Tenberken's international training center for blind adults in Kerala, India, an experience that reveals both the shocking oppression endured by the world's blind, as well as their great resilience, integrity, ingenuity, and strength. By living among the blind, Rosemary Mahoney enables us to see them in fascinating close up, revealing their particular "quality of ease that seems to broadcast a fundamental connection to the world." Having read FOR THE BENEFIT OF THOSE WHO SEE, you will never see the world in quite the same way again.




About the Author
Rosemary Mahoney is the author of For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind(January 2014). She is also the author of Whoredom in Kimmage, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist; Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman s Skiff; a New York Times Notable Book, A Likely Story: One Summer with Lillian Hellman; and two other books. She was a 2011 Guggenheim fellow and is the recipient of a Whiting Writers Award.


NPR
Sunday, Jan 12, 2014

Braille Without Borders was the first school for the blind in Tibet, founded by a German woman who is blind herself, Sabriya Tenberken. On assignment profiling Tenberken, writer Rosemary Mahoney had to face her own fear of losing her sight and challenge long-standing misconceptions about blindness. More at NPR.org

NPR Audio Player Requires Flash Upgrade: Please upgrade your plug-in to view this content.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile