Soulless

By Gail Carriger
(Orbit, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780316056632, 373pp.)

Publication Date: September 30, 2009

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the November 2009 Indie Notables
“Victorian London has never been more fun than in the company of Alexia Tarabotti. This refreshing blend of manners, parasols, werewolves, and vampires will appeal to fans of Sookie Stackhouse and Jane Austen -- and it will have everyone laughing out loud. Alexia is a character to treasure.”
-- Katie Glasgow, Mitchell Books, Fort Wayne, IN


Description
Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations. First, she has no soul. Second, she's a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.
Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire -- and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.
With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London's high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?
SOULLESS is the first book of the Parasol Protectorate series: a comedy of manners set in Victorian London, full of werewolves, vampires, dirigibles, and tea-drinking.



About the Author
GAIL CARRIGER vit dans les colonies et exige que son the soit directement importe de Londres. Elle se dit influencee par Jane Austen et P.G. Wodehouse, des annees d'etudes d'histoire (elle a ete archeologue) et les costumes de scene de la BBC. "Corsets et complots" est le deuxieme volet de sa nouvelle serie, "Le pensionnat de Mlle Geraldine", qui se passe 25 ans avant "Le Protectorat de l'Ombrelle", et a ete classe dans le palmares des best-sellers du NY Times, comme tous les romans de Gail Carriger.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile