The Fire

The Fire Cover

The Fire

By Katherine Neville

Ballantine Books, Paperback, 9780345500687, 451pp.

Publication Date: August 25, 2009

Description
2003, Colorado: Alexandra Solarin is summoned home to her family's ancestral Rocky Mountain hideaway for her mother's birthday. Thirty years ago, her parents, Cat Velis and Alexander Solarin, believed that they had scattered the pieces of the Montglane Service around the world, burying with the chessmen the secrets of the power that comes with possessing them. But Alexandra arrives to find that her mother is missing and that the Game has begun again.
1822, Albania: Haidee, the young daughter of a powerful Ottoman ruler, embarks on a dangerous mission to smuggle a valuable relic out of Albania and deliver it into the hands of the one man who might be able to save it. Haidee's journey brings forth chilling revelations that burn through history to the present day.


About the Author
Katherine Neville is the author of The Eight, The Magic Circle (a "USA Today" bestseller), and A Calculated Risk (a "New York Times" Notable Book). The Eight has been translated into more than thirty languages. In a national poll in Spain by the noted journal El Pais, The Eight was voted one of the top ten books of all time. Neville lives in Virginia and Washington, D.C."


Praise For The Fire

“[An] exotic, labyrinthine conspiracy tale . . . the perfect escapist adventure.”—Washington Post

The Fire expertly blends history, science, and myth. Katherine Neville is the undisputed queen of the international suspense genre.”—Steve Berry, author of The Charlemagne Pursuit

“For fans of The Da Vinci Code and The Rule of Four, Neville’s historical detective story . . . packs an epic wallop.”—People StyleWatch

The Fire impresses as much for its literary aspects as it does for its action, puzzles and suspense. . . . This is a book to be savored as it’s read, and admired for the beauty of its accomplishment.”—Chicago Sun-Times