Traitors Gate

Traitors Gate Cover

Traitors Gate

By Anne Perry

Ballantine Books, Paperback, 9780345514172, 432pp.

Publication Date: September 28, 2010

Description

Someone in the Colonial Office is passing secrets to Germany about England's strategy on Africa. While Police Superintendent Thomas Pitt investigates this matter of treason, he is quietly looking into the tragic death of his childhood mentor, Sir Arthur Desmond. Pitt believes that Sir Arthur was murdered, and that the crime is connected with the treachery in the government. And when the strangled body of an aristocratic society beauty is found floating near lonely Traitors Gate, Pitt and his clever wife, Charlotte, begin to see clearly the pattern of tragedy and frightening evil that Pitt must deal with, at the risk of his career and his life.



About the Author
Anne Perryis the bestselling author of two acclaimed series set in Victorian England: the Charlotte and Thomas Pitt novels, including"Death on Blackheath"and"Midnight at Marble Arch, "and""the William Monk novels, including"Blood on the Water"and"Blind Justice." She is also the author of a series of five World War I novels, as well as twelve holiday novels, most recently"A New York Christmas, "and a historical novel, "The Sheen on the Silk, "set in the Ottoman Empire. Anne Perry lives in Los Angeles and Scotland."


Praise For Traitors Gate

 
“Perry’s infallible feeling for the historical moment yields animated political views of Victorian society at play and tantalizing glimpses of a confident, assertive creature known as the ‘new woman.’”—The New York Times Book Review
 
“A tale of mystery, corruption, detection, and justice as complex as the colorful characters who populate its pages.”—Mystery News
 
“In the tradition of Margaret Millar and Ruth Rendell, Perry saves her largest, tastiest revelation for the very last paragraphs.”—Los Angeles Times
 
“Riveting . . . devious . . . fascinating . . . soars with pathos and humor and, of course, a crackerjack mystery.”—Mobile Register