A Simple Winter

A Seasons of Lancaster Novel

By Rosalind Lauer
(Ballantine Books, Paperback, 9780345526717, 416pp.)

Publication Date: October 18, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

THE PROMISE OF A HOME,
THE HEARTBREAK OF AN IMPOSSIBLE LOVE
 
As a budding journalist with a major newspaper, Remy McCallister is eager to prove herself. While investigating an unsolved crime, Remy winds up in the tightly woven Amish community of Lancaster County, the last place she would ever expect to find herself. The story leads her to Adam King and his ten younger siblings, who are trying to sustain their warm, loving home in the wake of the murder of their parents. Although Remy tries to remain professional, she is captivated by the Kings. With her own mother gone and her father disengaged from their relationship, Remy longs for a home and a family just like that of these good, simple people.

Suddenly patriarch of his large family, Adam struggles to do the right thing for his siblings, his community, and his God. He neither wants nor needs the complications that spirited Remy brings. But as much as he tries to push her away, even as he counts all the ways this lovely outsider cannot possibly remain in his world—or in his heart—the wondrous light she shines upon his troubled soul cannot be denied. Adam can only pray for the strength and the faith to get this Englisher girl out of their lives for good.

Snowbound with the Kings, Remy experiences the wonder and the chores of a simple winter among the Plain People, as well as the friendship of their warm community. When her peaceful interlude ends, does she dare to reveal a killer in their midst, knowing that she may lose the love of this special family and this remarkable man?




Praise For A Simple Winter

“This book has it all: faith and family, mystery and inspiration.  You won't want to put it down.  I loved every word.”—Debbie Macomber
 
“A promising start to a new series. The homespun feel and clash of cultures is sure to appeal to fans of Beverly Lewis and Mindy Starns Clark.”—Library Journal

“Readers looking for a chaste and cozy fireside read will enjoy the leisurely pace as Lauer delves into the placid lives and unwavering faith of the Amish.”—Publishers Weekly 
 
“Enjoy a story of warm romance, mystery and faith in A Simple Winter by Rosalind Lauer. This is a simple and sweet story of family and faith set amid the Amish life. Those looking for a cozy romance should look no further.” –Parkersburg News & Sentinel 

“You could call this book a spiritual romantic suspense but I would call it just plain good.”—Night Owl Reviews
 
“As intricately and uniquely developed as a dazzling snowflake, the very talented Rosalind Lauer has crafted a fascinating tale of unsolved murder, romance and community that immediately pulls you deep into this inspiring story right from the get go to its very moving and satisfying conclusion. Lauer sets out a complex and layered tale that is totally captivating and definitely sets the bar high for Amish romance stories….A SIMPLE WINTER is a wonderful reading treat you definitely will not want to miss!”—Fresh Fiction
 
“A wonderful story…Sharp characterization and a little bit of mystery color the pages in a novel that you will not put down or soon forget.”—Romance Reviews Today
 
“A heartwarming tale . . . Ms. Lauer demonstrates that life holds no bounds, and though there are obstacles, if something is destined to be . . . it will be.”—Reader to Reader

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile