The Sweetest Dark

The Sweetest Dark

By Shana Abe

Bantam, Hardcover, 9780345531704, 334pp.

Publication Date: April 2, 2013

For fans of Lauren Kate and Libba Bray, "The Sweetest Dark "is filled with thrilling romance, exciting adventure, and ancient magic. Shana AbE brilliantly captures the drama of post-Victorian England, while unfolding a passionate love story that defies time.
""With every fiber of my being, I yearned to be normal. To glide through my days at Iverson without incident. But I'd have to face the fact that my life was about to unfold in a very, very different way than I'd ever envisioned. "Normal" would become forever out of reach." "
Lora Jones has always known that she's different. On the outside, she appears to be an ordinary sixteen-year-old girl. Yet Lora's been keeping a heartful of secrets: She hears songs that no one else can hear, dreams vividly of smoke and flight, and lives with a mysterious voice inside her that insists she's far more than what she seems.
England, 1915. Raised in an orphanage in a rough corner of London, Lora quickly learns to hide her unique abilities and avoid attention. Then, much to her surprise, she is selected as the new charity student at Iverson, an elite boarding school on England's southern coast. Iverson's eerie, gothic castle is like nothing Lora has ever seen. And the two boys she meets there will open her eyes and forever change her destiny.
Jesse is the school's groundskeeper--a beautiful boy who recognizes Lora for who and what she truly is. Armand is a darkly handsome and arrogant aristocrat who harbors a few closely guarded secrets of his own. Both hold the answers to her past. One is the key to her future. And both will aim to win her heart. As danger descends upon Iverson, Lora must harness the powers she's only just begun to understand, or else lose everything she dearly loves.
Filled with lush atmosphere, thrilling romance, and ancient magic, "The Sweetest Dark" brilliantly captures a rich historical era while unfolding an enchanting love story that defies time.
Praise for "The Sweetest Dark"
" "
"A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage--and dragons . . . I was enchanted."--Melissa Marr, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Wicked Lovely"
" "
"AbE creates a rich and refreshing world."--"RT Book Reviews "(four stars)
"Abe's writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . "The Sweetest Dark" is the perfect fantasy read."--Badass Book Reviews
"Strong and spellbinding."--Genre Go Round Reviews.

About the Author
Shana Abe is the award-winning author of nine novels, including The Smoke Thief. She lives in the Denver area with four surly pet house rabbits, all rescued, and a big goofy dog. Please, please support your local animal shelter, and spay or neuter your pets.

Praise For The Sweetest Dark

Praise for The Sweetest Dark
“A wonderfully refreshing story of self-discovery, love, courage—and dragons . . . I was enchanted.”—Melissa Marr, New York Times bestselling author of Wicked Lovely
“Abé creates a rich and refreshing world.”—RT Book Reviews (four stars)
“Abe’s writing is both elegant and beautiful . . . The Sweetest Dark is the perfect fantasy read.”—Badass Book Reviews
“Strong and spellbinding.”—Genre Go Round Reviews

The Sweetest Dark


More Book Videos