Winter at the Door

Winter at the Door Cover

Winter at the Door

By Sarah Graves

Bantam, Hardcover, 9780345535016, 272pp.

Publication Date: January 6, 2015

Description
Perfect for fans of Jenny Milchman, Linda Castillo, and Lisa Gardner the first book in a suspenseful new crime thriller series featuring the tough but haunted police chief Lizzie Snow, a big-city cop with a mission, taking on a small town with a dark side.
Moving from Boston to remote Bearkill, Maine, isn t homicide cop Lizzie Snow's idea of a step up. But breaking away from tragedy and personal betrayal is at least a step in the right direction. Her dead sister's fate still torments her, as does her long-missing niece's disappearance. Lizzie hopes to find the mysteriously vanished child here, amid the coming ice and snow. But in the Great North Woods, something darker and more dangerous than punishing winter is also bound for Bearkill.
The town is a world apart in more than distance full of people who see everything, say little, and know more than they ll share with an outsider. The only exceptions are the handsome state cop who once badly broke Lizzie's heart and desperately wants another chance and Lizzie's new boss, sheriff Cody Chevrier, who's counting on her years of homicide experience to help him solve his most troubling case, before it's too late.
A rash of freak accidents and suicides has left a string of dead men all former local cops. Now the same cruel eyes that watched them die are on Lizzie and so is the pressure to find out what sort of monster has his hooks in this town, what his ruthless game is, and just how brutally he ll play to win. Whatever the truth is, its twisted roots lie in the desolate backwoods of Aroostook County: where the desperate disappear, the corrupt find shelter, and the innocent lose everything. It's there that a cunning and utterly cold-blooded killer plans the fate of the helpless lives at his mercy one of whom may be the lost child Lizzie will do anything to save. As a blizzard bears down, and Bearkill's dark secrets claw their way to the surface, Lizzie gears up for a showdown that could leave the deep, driven snow stained blood red.
Praise for "Winter at the Door"
Sarah Graves writes with grace and intelligence, and a love for her state shines through in this stylish debut of a new series set against Maine's dark and foreboding forests. I m hooked Margaret Maron, "New York Times" bestselling author of "Designated Daughters"
Fast and dangerous, an extraordinarily entertaining read, "Winter at the Door" grabbed me from the thrilling first page. Linda Castillo, "New York Times" bestselling author of "The Dead Will Tell"
Readers who enjoy Linda Castillo and Lisa Gardner will welcome Lizzie, a strong, motivated woman making her way in the frozen north. "Booklist"
Lizzie is edgy and independent. . . . Taking a page from Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum, two hunky guys pursue Lizzie, each stumbling over the other as they try to protect a woman who really can protect herself. Readers can relax in Graves's able hands as she spins a complex tale with twists and turns that feel earned, and a character who knows exactly who she is. "The Boston Globe"
An entertaining story that proceeds to an explosive conclusion. " Mystery Scene"
""
A superbly suspenseful mystery with likable tough cop Lizzie and a town full of character. It's bound to appeal to readers who enjoy Jenny Milchman's books. "Library Journal "(starred review)


About the Author
Sarah Graves lives with her husband in an 1823 Federal-style house in Eastport, Maine, where her mystery novels are set. When she is not scraping, painting, glazing, sanding, hammering, or otherwise repairing (or failing to repair!) the old house, she is working on her next Home Repair Is Homicide novel.