The Deepest Secret

By Carla Buckley
(Bantam, Hardcover, 9780345535245, 427pp.)

Publication Date: February 4, 2014

List Price: $26.00*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
For fans of Jodi Picoult, Kim Edwards, and William Landay, "The Deepest Secret "is part intimate family drama, part gripping page-turner, exploring the profound power of the truths we're scared to face . . . about our marriages, our children, and ourselves.
Eve Lattimore's family is like every other on their suburban street, with one exception. Her son Tyler has a rare medical condition that makes him fatally sensitive to light, which means heavy curtains and deadlocked doors protect him during the day and he can never leave the house except at night. For Eve, only constant vigilance stands between an increasingly restless teenage son and the dangers of the outside world.
Until the night the unthinkable happens. When tragedy strikes, it becomes clear that this family is not the only one on the quiet cul-de-sac that is more complicated than it appears. And as Eve is forced to shield her family from harm, there are some crises she cannot control--and some secrets that not even love can conceal.
Deeply moving and stunningly suspenseful, "The Deepest Secret "is a novel of rare power--a story about hope and forgiveness, about the terrifying ways our lives can spin out of control and the unexpected sacrifices that may save us.
Praise for "The Deepest Secret"
"A taut family drama . . . smart and thrilling."--"People"
"Elegant, poignant, and utterly riveting . . . a suspenseful tale of love, forgiveness, and sacrifice that will leave you asking how far a mother really should go to protect her family and wondering about the cost of the secrets we all keep, even from ourselves."--Kimberly McCreight, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Reconstructing Amelia"
"Exceptionally moving and unrelentingly suspenseful . . . everything a great novel, and thriller, should be.""--Providence Journal"
"Superb . . . The story offers the intricate suspense and surprise of a thriller, along with rich characterizations and nuanced writing. . . . A gripping read and a memorable reflection on the conflicting imperatives of love."--"Publishers Weekly" (starred review)
" "
"Carla Buckley masterfully portrays an ordinary family trapped in a heart-wrenching crisis."--William Landay, "New York Times "bestselling author of "Defending Jacob"
" "
"Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this compelling blend of ripped-from-the-headlines suspense and close-to-your-heart characters."--Lisa Gardner, #1 "New York Times "bestselling author of "Fear Nothing.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile