The Long Way Home

The Chesapeake Diaries

By Mariah Stewart
(Ballantine Books, Mass Market Paperbound, 9780345538413, 432pp.)

Publication Date: January 29, 2013

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
"NEW YORK TIMES "BESTSELLER
Mariah Stewart presents a captivating contemporary romance novel in the tradition of Robyn Carr, Susan Mallery, and Barbara Freethy.
As the only child of a wealthy investment manager, Ellie Chapman has never known anything besides a life of perfect privilege. But her years of good fortune come to an abrupt end when her father is exposed for swindling billions of dollars from innocent investors in a massive Ponzi scheme. And just like that, Ellie loses everything: money, job, home--even her fiancE, who's jailed as her father's partner in crime. With no job prospects on the horizon, no cash, and her family name in tatters, Ellie has only one place to go.
Sleepy St. Dennis, Maryland, is hardly where Ellie intends to stay, however. Keeping her identity a secret, she plans to sell the house her late mother left her in the small town and use the proceeds to move on with her life. Unfortunately, her ticket to a new beginning is in dire need of a laundry list of pricey improvements, many of which she'll have to do herself. And until the house on Bay View Road is fit to be sold, the sole place Ellie will be traveling is the hardware store. But as the many charms of St. Dennis--not to mention Cameron O'Connor, the handsome local contractor who has secrets of his own--begin to work their magic, what begins as a lesson in do-it-yourself renovations might just end up as Ellie's very own rejuvenation.
Includes a preview of the next book in the Chesapeake Diaries series, "At the River's Edge.



About the Author
Mariah Stewart is the award-winning "New York Times" and "USA TODAY" bestselling author of numerous novels and several novellas and short stories. A native of Hightstown, New Jersey, she lives with her husband and two rambunctious rescue dogs amid the rolling hills of Chester County, Pennsylvania, where she savors country life, tends her gardens, and tries to avoid running the Amish buggies off the road with her SUV. Visit her website at MariahStewart.com, and LIKE her on Facebook at Facebook.com/AuthorMariahStewart.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile