Crewel

By Gennifer Albin
(Farrar Straus Giroux, Hardcover, 9780374316419, 368pp.)

Publication Date: October 16, 2012

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2012 Kids Next List
“Adelice lives in a world managed by women who are able to weave time and events. Every aspect of life is controlled by the Guild and all resources by the Spinsters, a group of women who are able to spin threads of time and matter and thus control the population. This accomplished debut is ideal for fans of The Hunger Games with the promise of a sequel to come!”
-- Patricia Worth, River Reader LLC, Lexington, MO


Description

Deadly Secrets
Tangled Lies
Woven truths

"Incapable. Awkward. Artless." That's what the other girls whisper behind her back. But sixteen-year-old Adelice Lewys has a secret: She wants to fail. Gifted with the ability to weave time with matter, she's exactly what the Guild is looking for, and in the world of Arras, being chosen to work the looms is everything a girl could want. It means privilege, eternal beauty, and being something other than a secretary. It also means the power to manipulate the very fabric of reality. But if controlling what people eat, where they live, and how many children they have is the price of having it all, Adelice isn't interested.

Not that her feelings matter, because she slipped and used her hidden talent for a moment. Now she has one hour to eat her mom's overcooked pot roast. One hour to listen to her sister's academy gossip and laugh at her dad's jokes. One hour to pretend everything's okay. And one hour to escape.

Because tonight, they'll come for her.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile