Third Grade Baby

Third Grade Baby Cover

Third Grade Baby

By Jenny Meyerhoff; Jill Weber (Illustrator)

Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR), Hardcover, 9780374374822, 112pp.

Publication Date: September 2, 2008

Description

Polly Peterson knows that baby teeth are for babies like her little brother, Max. And yet she’s the only kid in her third grade class who hasn’t lost a single one. Her best friends, Oliver and Amelia, try to make her feel better, but it’s hard to be cheerful when Zachary, the new boy at school, starts calling her Babyteeth. As if that weren’t bad enough, Polly worries about what to do when she finally does lose a tooth. Can third graders leave teeth under their pillows? Or is the tooth fairy also just for babies?



In this charming and funny book filled with exuberant illustrations, Polly learns that true growth isn’t measured by the teeth we lose, but rather by the friendships we gain.



About the Author
JENNY MEYERHOFF, a former kindergarten teacher, lives in Riverwoods, Illinois. This is her first book. JILL WEBER has written and illustrated numerous books for children and adults. She lives on Frajil Farms in New Hampshire


Praise For Third Grade Baby

“With occasional, cheerful, full-age black-and-white drawings, this debut effort gets the young grade-schooler's viewpoint just right, at school and at home.” —Booklist

“Eminently useful for classroom discussions (and perhaps dental units) and for readers looking for a slice of third-grade life.”—Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

“Mixed in with the humor are very real issues middle-grade readers will recognize, of bullying and the constant need to measure up. The realization that the bully has issues if his own will reassure readers.” —Kirkus Reviews

“It’s a great choice for fans of Clementine, Judy Moody, or Junie B. Jones.” —Instructor Magazine “A cheerful, black-and-white cartoon drawing appears in each chapter.”—School Library Journal

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.