The Border Trilogy

All the Pretty Horses, The Crossing, Cities of the Plain

By Cormac McCarthy
(Everyman's Library, Hardcover, 9780375407932, 1040pp.)

Publication Date: September 28, 1999

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



Available together in one volume for the first time, the three novels of Cormac McCarthy's award-winning and bestselling Border Trilogy constitute a genuine American epic.


Beginning with All the Pretty Horses and continuing through The Crossing and Cities of the Plain, McCarthy chronicles the lives of two young men coming of age in the Southwest and Mexico, poised on the edge of a world about to change forever. Hauntingly beautiful, filled with sorrow and humor, The Border Trilogy is a masterful elegy for the American frontier.

(Book Jacket Status: Jacketed)

About the Author

Cormac McCarthy is the author of The Orchard Keeper, Outer Dark, Child of God, Suttree, and Blood Meridian. All the Pretty Horses, the first volume of The Border Trilogy, won the National Book Award and the National Book Critics Circle Award.

Praise For The Border Trilogy

"An American classic to stand with the finest literary achievements of the century." —San Francisco Chronicle


"A miracle in prose, an American original." —New York Times Book Review

Indie Bookstore Finder

Update Profile