The Stone that the Builder Refused

By Madison Smartt Bell
(Pantheon, Hardcover, 9780375422829, 768pp.)

Publication Date: November 9, 2004

List Price: $29.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.



The Stone that the Builder Refused is the final volume of Madison Smartt Bell’s masterful trilogy about the Haitian Revolution–the first successful slave revolution in history–which begins with All Souls' Rising (a finalist for the National Book Award and the PEN/Faulkner Award) and continues with Master of the Crossroads.  Each of these three novels can be read independently of the two others; of the trilogy, The Baltimore Sun has said, “[It] will make an indelible mark on literary history–one worthy of occupying the same shelf as Tolstoy’s War and Peace.”

About the Author

Madison Smartt Bell is the author of thirteen previous works of fiction, including Soldier’s Joy and Anything Goes. He lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

All Souls’ Rising and Master of the Crossroads are available in paperback from Vintage Books

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound

Update Profile