Twice-Told Tales

By Nathaniel Hawthorne; Rosemary Mahoney (Introduction by)
(Modern Library, Paperback, 9780375757884, 432pp.)

Publication Date: October 9, 2001

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.


Twice-Told tales, originally published in 1837 and revised and republished by Hawthorne in 1851 (the edition reproduced here), is the most famous collection of Hawthorne's stories. All of Hawthorne's great gifts - and the features that make him not only one of the greatest but one of the most contemporary American authors, are on full display here.

About the Author
Nathaniel Hawthorne was one of the first American writers to embrace the themes of Puritan New England, focusing much of his writing on humanity's sins and moral obligations to the broader community. Part of the Romantic movement, Hawthorne is the author of the masterpiece The Scarlet Letter, as well as The House of the Seven Gables, Twice Told Tales, and many other works of fiction. Hawthorne died in 1864.

Rosemary Mahoney is the author of For the Benefit of Those Who See: Dispatches from the World of the Blind(January 2014). She is also the author of Whoredom in Kimmage, a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist; Down the Nile: Alone in a Fisherman s Skiff; a New York Times Notable Book, A Likely Story: One Summer with Lillian Hellman; and two other books. She was a 2011 Guggenheim fellow and is the recipient of a Whiting Writers Award.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound

Update Profile