The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street Cover

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

By Jeanne Birdsall

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375840906, 308pp.

Publication Date: April 8, 2008

Description
With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and"New York Times"bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.
The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure But the adventure they get isn t quite what they had in mind. Mr. Penderwick's sister has decided it's time for him to start dating and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It's high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.


About the Author
Jeanne Birdsall lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband and a large assortment of animals. "The Penderwicks on Gardam Street "is her second novel. "From the Trade Paperback edition."


Praise For The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Starred Review, School Library Journal, March 2008:

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold."

Starred Review, Booklist, May 1, 2008:

"Just the sort of cozy fare that's missing in today's mean-girl world."

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, April 28, 2008:

“It's sheer pleasure to spend time with these exquisitely drawn characters, girls so real that readers will feel the wind through their hair as they power down the soccer field.”
Review, San Francisco Chronicle, April 27, 2008:
"Birdsall writes with amazing grace."
Review, Parade, June 22, 2008:
"[A]n old-fashioned (in a good way) read with well-drawn characters, warmth, and humor."
Review, The New York Times Book Review, July 13, 2008:
"Birdsall's second novel . . . offers comforting comedy."

Join the Conversation

Join the Conversation

Sign up today to hear about books and authors from an independent bookstore near you.