Jake

By Audrey Couloumbis
Yearling Books, Paperback, 9780375856310, 162pp.

Publication Date: August 23, 2011

List Price: $6.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description
""I'm old enough to stay home alone, you know."
Mom said, "Not a chance. Who's going to lug the loot ba " and the locks on the door sprung open. I opened the door and unloaded the cart. It took five minutes, probably less.
"Mom?" I said, looking around when I'd finished. I didn't see her. "Mom?" I yelled. "Mom?""
It's a few days before Christmas when 10-year-old Jake's mom slips and breaks her leg. For as long as Jake can remember, it's just been him and his mom, so with no one else to look after him the hospital contacts the gruff granddad Jake only knows through awkward twice-a-year phone calls. When grandad shows up, he's nothing like Jake expected. But as Jake gets to know his grandfather and a makeshift family of friends and neighbors come together around him and his mom, he realizes that this might not be such a bad Christmas after all.
With beautiful spare writing that will appeal to fans of "Because of Winn-Dixie" and "The Higher Power of Lucky, " Newbery Honor winning author Audrey Couloumbis tells a story as warm and welcome as a cup of hot chocolate on a cold day and shows that the best gift of all is the gift of family.



About the Author
Audrey Couloumbis was born in Illinois. She currently lives in Queens, NY, and upstate NY with her husband. This is her first children's book.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound