The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

By Jeanne Birdsall
(Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375858512, 304pp.)

Publication Date: May 10, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Compact Disc, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Summer 2011 Kids' Next List
“The Penderwicks are surely one of the most memorable families in the world of recent children's books. Now, Skye, Jane, Batty, and Hound are off to spend two weeks with their Aunt Claire at Birches, a house on the Maine coast. Skye worries that with her as OAP (Oldest Available Penderwick), the vacation is sure to be a disaster. Instead, what awaits is a summer filled with friends old and new, surprising discoveries, and lots of adventures! A seal serenade, a golf ball collection, a boy on a skateboard, and a boisterous dog all play a part in an unforgettable vacation. I can't wait for the next book!”
-- Joyce Tiber, Next Chapter Bookshop, Mequon, WI


Description

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestseller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

When summer comes around, it's off to the beach for Rosalind . . . and off to Maine with Aunt Claire for the rest of the Penderwick girls, as well as their old friend, Jeffrey.

That leaves Skye as OAP (oldest available Penderwick)—a terrifying notion for all, but for Skye especially. Things look good as they settle into their cozy cottage, with a rocky shore, enthusiastic seagulls, a just-right corner store, and a charming next-door neighbor.  But can Skye hold it together long enough to figure out Rosalind's directions about not letting Batty explode?  Will Jane's Love Survey come to a tragic conclusion after she meets the alluring Dominic? Is Batty—contrary to all accepted wisdom—the only Penderwick capable of carrying a tune?  And will Jeffrey be able to keep peace between the girls . . . these girls who are his second, and most heartfelt, family?

It's a rollicking ride as the Penderwicks continue their unforgettable adventures in a story filled with laughs and joyful tears!




About the Author

JEANNE BIRDSALL lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with her husband. Their house is old and comfortable, full of unruly animals, and surrounded by gardens. The Penderwicks at Point Mouette is her third novel.




Praise For The Penderwicks at Point Mouette

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, April 11, 2011:
"The Penderwick sisters' third adventure brings them back in full entertaining force...From start to finish, this is a summer holiday to savor."

Starred review, Booklist, May 15, 2011:
"Drawing readers right into the family, [Birdsall] enlivens the everyday matters and endows her characters with so much individuality it’s as though she’s erased the word generic from the dictionary."

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile