Penny Dreadful

By Laurel Snyder; Abigail Halpin (Illustrator)
(Yearling, Paperback, 9780375861697, 320pp.)

Publication Date: September 27, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Hardcover

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2011 Kids' Next List
“Snyder delights in showing us bright, curious kids making sense of the often-senseless world. Young Penny Grey is living a boring, controlled, and stifling life in the city when she makes a wish that something interesting would happen, 'just like in a book.' Her wish comes true when her impractical father quits his job to write a novel, plunging the family into poverty. This is a deeply human story about the importance of community and friendship, and it reminds us that a large and steady income is not essential for a strong and happy family life. Simply wonderful!”
-- Rich Rennicks, Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe, Asheville, NC


Description

From the author of Any Which Wall, comes another story of magic and how it can change you. In Penny Dreadful the magic is small, but the transformation is big. Penelope Grey is a lonely, wealthy child in a nothern big city who, by a  twist of fate, becomes Penny: a happy, poor child in the rural south. Rich with unusual and appealing characters, Penny Dreadful asks readers to think about who they really are and what they really want. For fans of Polly Horvath, Lemony Snicket, and Kate diCamillo!




About the Author

LAUREL SNYDER'S novels, Any Which Wall and Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains, and her first picture book, Inside the Slidy Diner, have delighted readers, both young and old. She wrote Any Which Wall as a tribute to Edward Eager and Edith Nesbit, both of whom have influenced her work. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, Laurel and her family now live in Atlanta, Georgia. Visit her online at LaurelSnyder.com.

ABIGAIL HALPIN is an illustrator and graphic designer who likes tea, mixed tapes, typography, and old book stores. Her illustrations appear in the novel Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe by Susan Patron. Abigail lives in beautiful (but snowy) Wells, Maine.

Indie Bookstore Finder

Indie Bestsellers

We Were Liars
E. Lockhart
Delacorte Press
Americanah
Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Anchor
The Bees
Laline Paull
Ecco Press
All the Light We Cannot See
Anthony Doerr
Scribner Book Company

Make Your Own Wishlist








Update Profile