Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful Cover

Penny Dreadful

By Laurel Snyder; Abigail Halpin (Illustrator)

Yearling Books, Paperback, 9780375861697, 304pp.

Publication Date: September 27, 2011

Description
From the author of "Any Which Wall, " comes another story of magic and how it can change you. In "Penny Dreadful" the magic is small, but the transformation is big. Penelope Grey is a lonely, wealthy child in a nothern big city who, by a twist of fate, becomes Penny: a happy, poor child in the rural south. Rich with unusual and appealing characters, "Penny Dreadful" asks readers to think about who they really are and what they really want. For fans of Polly Horvath, Lemony Snicket, and Kate diCamillo


About the Author
LAUREL SNYDER'S novels, " Any Which Wall" and "Up and Down the Scratchy Mountains, " and her first picture book, "Inside the Slidy Diner, " have delighted readers, both young and old. She wrote "Any Which Wall" as a tribute to Edward Eager and Edith Nesbit, both of whom have influenced her work. A graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, Laurel and her family now live in Atlanta, Georgia. Visit her online at LaurelSnyder.com.

ABIGAIL HALPIN is an illustrator and graphic designer who likes tea, mixed tapes, typography, and old book stores. Her illustrations appear in the novel "Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe" by Susan Patron. Abigail lives in beautiful (but snowy) Wells, Maine.