Penny Dreadful

Penny Dreadful Cover

Penny Dreadful

By Laurel Snyder; Abigail Halpin (Illustrator)

Yearling Books, Paperback, 9780375861697, 304pp.

Publication Date: September 27, 2011

Description
From the author of "Any Which Wall, " comes another story of magic and how it can change you. In "Penny Dreadful" the magic is small, but the transformation is big. Penelope Grey is a lonely, wealthy child in a nothern big city who, by a twist of fate, becomes Penny: a happy, poor child in the rural south. Rich with unusual and appealing characters, "Penny Dreadful" asks readers to think about who they really are and what they really want. For fans of Polly Horvath, Lemony Snicket, and Kate diCamillo


About the Author


Abigail Halpin is the talented illustrator of several chapter books including Maybe Yes, Maybe No, Maybe Maybe (Simon & Schuster/Aladdin, 2009), cover artwork for Emma Jean Lazarus Fell In Love (Puffin Books, 2010), The Melancholic Mermaid (Simply Read Books, 2010), Penny Dreadful (Random House, 2010) and The Grand Plan to Fix Everything (Simon & Schuster/Atheneum, Spring 2011). Both illustrator and graphic designer, she lives in New England, a stone s throw from the Maine coastline. See her artwork at: http: //www.theodesign.com/.