Chasing Shadows

By Swati Avasthi; Craig Phillips (Illustrator)
(Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375863424, 308pp.)

Publication Date: September 24, 2013

List Price: $17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

A superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology. "Publishers Weekly, " Starred
Corey, Holly, and Savitri are closer than family until a random act of violence shatters their world. A gunman shoots at their car, leaving Corey dead, Holly in a coma, and Savitri the sole witness to the crime.
When Holly wakes up, she is changed determined to hunt down Corey's killer, whatever the cost. Savitri fears that Holly is running wild, losing her grip on reality. Friends should stand by each other in times of crisis. But can you hold on too tight? Too long?
Swati Avasthi delivers a riveting novel that will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Laurie Halse Anderson.
Haunting, mesmerizing and intense. "Kirkus Reviews, " Starred
A] visceral story of love, grief, and madness that is both action-packed and psychologically acute. "The Horn Book"




About the Author


Joan Holub is the author of more than 130 books for young readers, including the Goddess Girls series, the Heroes in Training series, "Zero the Hero", "Vincent van Gogh Sunflowers and Swirly Stars", and "Shampoodle". She lives in North Carolina. Visit her at JoanHolub.com.


Praise For Chasing Shadows

Starred Review, Publishers Weekly, August 5, 2013:
"Avasthi (Split) delivers a superb novel about grief, friendship, and mental illness, mixing in graphic-novel elements and themes from Hindu mythology."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews, September 1, 2013:
"Haunting, mesmerizing and intense.”

Starred Review, School Library Journal, November 2013:
“Fans of Cecil Castellucci’s Year of the Beasts will especially appreciate this book’s themes and its hybrid format that alternates chapters…in both compelling text and adept black-and-white graphics–graphics that ultimately deliver a sad and powerful twist.”

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile