Daddy-Long-Legs

By Jean Webster; Jean Webster (Illustrator); Ann M. Martin (Introduction by)
(Random House Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375868283, 208pp.)

Publication Date: January 25, 2011

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback, Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity—a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables and Louisa May Alcott's Little Women will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story. This gentle romance is the seventh book in the Looking Glass Library series.




About the Author

JEAN WEBSTER (1876-1916) was a grandniece of Mark Twain and a champion of women's rights and social reform. Daddy-Long-Legs (1912) brought her critical acclaim and financial success and was adapted into a play in 1914. She died giving birth to a daughter at the age of 40.

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile