By Jean Webster; Ann M. Martin (Introduction by)

Random House Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375868283, 194pp.

Publication Date: January 25, 2011

Bright and lively Judy Abbott is an orphan who dreams of escaping the drudgery of her life at the John Grier Home. One day she receives a marvelous opportunity a wealthy male benefactor has agreed to fund her higher education. In return, Judy must keep him informed about the ups and downs of college life. From horrendous Latin lessons to falling in love, the result is a series of letters both hilarious and poignant. Fans of L. M. Montgomery's "Anne of Green Gables" and Louisa May Alcott's "Little Women" will relish this American-girl-power coming-of-age story. This gentle romance is the seventh book in the Looking Glass Library series.

About the Author
Jean Webster is the pseudonym of American writer Alice Jane Chandler Webster (1876-1916), whose best-known works include Daddy-Long-Legs, Dear Enemy, and Just Patty.