The Wednesdays

The Wednesdays Cover

The Wednesdays

By Julie Bourbeau; Jason Beene (Illustrator)

Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375868900, 256pp.

Publication Date: August 14, 2012

Mystery, magic, mischief and monsters abound in this slightly fantastical story of a human kid who wants to stay that way. Perfect for fans of Ransom Riggs and Maryrose Wood.
Max's village is absolutely normal in every single way and on every single day "except Wednesday." Most of the townsfolk shutter their windows and lock their doors to hide away from the many peculiar things that happen things like cats getting stuck in the vacuum cleaner and birthday cakes meeting fiery and horrific ends. But Max is too curious for that, and so, breaking every rule in the village, he searches out the cause of all the Wednesday weirdness.
What he uncovers is a secret so devious so dastardly and mischievous that life as he knows it will never be the same. Max himself is not the same. Suddenly the mysterious little accidents so common on Wednesdays are happening to him on Thursdays, Fridays even Saturdays What's come over Max? And more importantly, is there any cure for a case of the Wednesdays?

About the Author
JULIE BOURBEAU has lived a life that is probably more adventurous than necessary. She has jumped out of airplanes, been swept out to sea, and was married on a Himalayan mountaintop by Tibetan monks. When she grew weary of a lifestyle that required so many vaccinations, she decided to become a writer so that her characters could continue her adventures while she stayed safe and warm. She still travels (just not as far), now in the company of her young son who, one way or another, inspires all of her tales.

You can visit her at