The Tragedy Paper

By Elizabeth LaBan
(Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780375870408, 320pp.)

Publication Date: January 8, 2013

List Price: $17.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the Winter 2012 Kids Next List
“A coming-of-age story of the caliber of John Knowles' A Separate Peace, LaBan's debut novel will make you think about what it means to be yourself and to be a friend. When 17-year-old Duncan arrives at a prestigious boarding school, he discovers a trove of CDs left for him by the former occupant of his room, Tim Macbeth. As Duncan prepares for the dreaded Tragedy Paper, a senior thesis assigned by his English teacher, he listens to Tim's own tragic story of obsession with the wrong girl. Compelling!”
-- Ellen Klein, Hooray for Books!, Alexandria, VA


Description

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan’s The Tragedy Paper “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak.” 

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.
 
Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile