Captain Disaster

By Jennifer L. Holm; Matthew Holm (Illustrator)
(Random House Books for Young Readers, Library Binding, 9780375937866, 91pp.)

Publication Date: September 25, 2012

List Price: $12.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description
Introducing Squish a hilarious, action packed graphic novel series from the award-winning creators of Babymouse Filled with superheroes, comics within comics, and gross-out science, Squish is perfect for fans of Dav Pilkey's Captain Underpants, Dan Gutman's Weird School, and Jarrett Krosoczka's Lunch Lady.
It's soccer season But the Waterfleas (Hey, it could be worse Okay, maybe it couldn't.) are getting pummelled game after game. Squish knows winning isn't "everything," but it's something right? Can Squish turn the losing streak around when he becomes team captain? Will Pod figure out how to harness the power of lightning? And how can amoebas play soccer when they don't have any feet? Find out in the electrifyingly funny page-turner "Squish #4: Captain Disaster" saving the world, one cell at a time
Yowza You can draw comics, too Look in the back to find out how to draw one of the Squish characters Also includes instructions for a sensational science experiment you can do at home Shazam
Here's what people are saying about everyone's favorite amoeba
"New York Times: "
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."
"Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews"
* "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
"The Bulletin: "
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure.



About the Author
Jennifer L. Holm is the author of the Newbery Honor Book Our Only May Amelia and the contemporary young adult thriller, The Creek, as well as the other books of the Boston Jane trilogy: Boston Jane: An Adventure and Boston Jane: Wilderness Days. She lives with her husband and son and cat in the wilds of Maryland.

Brother-and-sister team, Matthew Holm and Jennifer L. Holm have had their share of school dance dramas. Today Jennifer Holm is the author of several highly acclaimed novels, including "Penny From Heaven "and the Newbery Honor-winning" Our Only May Amelia ." Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer." "Th"e"y are both happily married and avoid dancing at all costs. The author lives in Fallston, MD.


Praise For Captain Disaster

New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:
* "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile