The Tomb of Zeus

The Tomb of Zeus

By Barbara Cleverly

Delta, Paperback, 9780385339902, 353pp.

Publication Date: October 30, 2007


With the same flawless storytelling that earned her the CWA Historical Dagger Award, Barbara Cleverly delivers a dazzling new novel. Sweeping us to the exotic island of Crete in 1928, Cleverly introduces a marvelous new heroine: whip-smart and spirited Laetitia Talbot, an aspiring archaeologist with a passion for adventure–and for the mysteries that only the keenest eyes can see.

Born into a background of British privilege, Laetitia Talbot has been raised to believe there is no field in which she may not excel. She has chosen a career in the male-dominated world of archaeology, but she approaches her first assignment in Crete the only way she knows how–with dash and enthusiasm. Until she enters the Villa Europa, where something is clearly utterly amiss…

Her host, a charismatic archaeologist, is racing to dig up the fabled island’s next great treasure–even, perhaps, the tomb of the King of the Gods, himself. But then a beautiful young woman is found hanged and a golden youth drives his Bugatti over a cliff. From out of the shadows come whispers of past loves, past jealousies, and ancient myths that sound an eerie discord with present events. Letty will need all her determination and knowledge to unravel the secrets beneath the Villa Europa’s roof–and they will lead her into the darkest, most terrifying place of all….

About the Author
Barbara Cleverly is a former teacher and a graduate of Durham University who now lives in Cambridge. Her debut, "The Last Kashmiri Rose", was a New York Times Notable Book of 2002.

Praise For The Tomb of Zeus

“Crisp writing and depth of characterization should please traditional mystery fans.”—Publishers Weekly

“For readers who love Elizabeth Peters and Jacqueline Winspear and still hanker for Agatha Christie.... [Cleverly] demonstrates a knack for creating full-blown historical puzzlers with complicated plots and engaging characters in unusual settings.”—Library Journal, starred review

“Tucked into the wealth of archaeological and historical detail is a full-blown English houseparty murder.... With a spirited, intelligent heroine, a glorious exotic setting, a clever plot, loads of archaeological detail and a touch of romance there's nothing not to like in this crisply told first book of a new series.”—Denver Post