Prize Stories, the Best of 1998

Prize Stories, the Best of 1998 Cover

Prize Stories, the Best of 1998

The O. Henry Awards

By Larry Dark (Editor)

Anchor Books, Paperback, 9780385489584, 468pp.

Publication Date: September 14, 1998


Established in 1918 as a memorial to O. Henry, this annual literary tradition has presented a remarkable offering of stories over its seventy-seven-year history. O. Henry first-prize winners have included Dorothy Parker, William Faulkner, Truman Capote, John Cheever, John Updike, and Cynthia Ozick, as well as some lesser-known writers such as Alison Baker and Cornelia Nixon. Many talented writers who were unknown when first chosen for an O. Henry Award later went on to become seminal voices of contemporary American fiction. Representative of the very best in contemporary American fiction, these are varied, full-bodied fictional creations brimming with life--proof of the continuing strength and variety of the American short story.