These Shallow Graves

These Shallow Graves Cover

These Shallow Graves

By Jennifer Donnelly

Delacorte Press, Hardcover, 9780385737654, 496pp.

Publication Date: October 27, 2015

Description
From the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of A Northern Light and Revolution, comes a thrilling mystery that's perfect for fans of The Cellar and Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls. This is a story of dark secrets, dirty truths, and the lengths to which people will go for love and revenge.
Jo Montfort is beautiful and rich, and soon like all the girls in her class she ll graduate from finishing school and be married off to a wealthy bachelor. Which is the last thing she wants. Jo dreams of becoming a writer a newspaper reporter.
Wild aspirations aside, Jo's life seems perfect until tragedy strikes: her father is found dead. The story is that Charles Montfort shot himself while cleaning his revolver, but the more Jo hears about her father's death, the more something feels wrong. And then she meets Eddie a young, smart, infuriatingly handsome reporter at her father's newspaper and it becomes all too clear how much she stands to lose if she keeps searching for the truth. But now it might be too late to stop.
The past never stays buried forever. Life is dirtier than Jo Montfort could ever have imagined, and this time the truth is the dirtiest part of all.
Praise forThese Shallow Graves

Action-packed chapters propel this compelling mystery and] the injustices Donelly highlights remain all too relevant. Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
Lovely prose, historical intrigue, unique characters and setting. I devoured this book Ruta Sepetys, New York Timesbestselling author ofBetween Shades of GrayandSalt to the Sea
A splendidly hair-raising tourof the brightest and darkest corners of Victorian New York. Elizabeth Wein, New York Timesbestselling author ofCode Name VerityandBlack Dove, White Raven
A fast-paced Gilded Age crime thriller. Julie Berry, award-winning author ofAll the Truth That's in Me

From the Trade Paperback edition.



About the Author
Jennifer Donnelly is the author of three adult novels, "The Tea Rose," "The Winter Rose," and "The Wild Rose," as well as the young adult novels "These Shallow Graves," "Revolution," and "A Northern Light," winner of Britain's prestigious Carnegie Medal, the "L.A. Times" Book Prize for Young Adult Literature, and a Michael L. Printz Honor Book Award. She lives and writes full-time in upstate New York. You can visit her at jenniferdonnelly.com.