The Other Side of Dark

By Joan Lowery Nixon
Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers, Paperback, 9780385739818, 185pp.

Publication Date: January 11, 2011

List Price: $7.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description

EDGAR AWARD WINNER
For fans of Gillian Flynn, Caroline Cooney, and R.L. Stine comes "The Other Side of Dark" from four-time Edgar Allen Poe Young Adult Mystery Award winner Joan Lowery Nixon.
Stacy wakes up in a hospital room, in a body she doesn t recognize. Her mother is dead murdered and Stacy is recovering from a gunshot wound. She is the sole eyewitness to the crime, but she has only a shadowy memory of the killer's face. Will Stacy be able to regain a clear memory of that fateful day before the killer reaches her?
" The Other Side of Dark" is one of Joan Lowery Nixon's most intriguing, suspenseful, and dramatic mysteries.
The compelling premise and Nixon's mastery of suspense are gripping. "Publishers Weekly"
Tense and dramatic "The Other Side of Dark" has a] quick pace, and the determined protagonist should attract and hold readers. "School Library Journal.




About the Author
Joan Lowery Nixon (1927-2003) was a renowned author of children's literature, best known for series like the Orphan Train Adventures and Casebusters. Born in Los Angeles, she began dictating poems to her mother before she could read. At the University of Southern California, Nixon majored in journalism, but took a job teaching the first grade upon graduating. In 1949, she and her husband moved to Corpus Christi, Texas, and in 1964 she published her first novel, "The Mystery of Hurricane Castle." Nixon became a fan of mystery fiction when she was a child, and many of her most popular series incorporate elements of sleuthing. She won four Edgar Awards for best young adult mysteries, including prizes for her novels "The Kidnapping of Christina Lattimore" (1979) and "The Name of the Game Was Murder "(1993). In addition to writing more than 140 young adult novels, Nixon also co-wrote several geology texts with her scientist husband.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound