Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl

By Carolita Blythe
(Delacorte Press Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780385742863, 321pp.)

Publication Date: April 9, 2013

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

Fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering real friendship, self-respect, and that pretty and mean don't always win.

  Girls who are pretty have a way of looking down their perfect noses at anyone they feel isn’t worthy of sharing the air with them. They have a way of making regular girls like me feel inferior for not winning the gene pool lottery. Tormenting them is my way of getting even.
Everyone knows that pretty equals mean, and Evelyn Ryder used to be a beautiful movie star—never mind that it was practically a lifetime ago. There’s no time limit on mean. So if you think I feel guilty about mugging her, think again.
But for something that should have been so simple, it sure went horribly wrong. 

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year

"Definitely a page-turner!"--Seventeen.com

“Exhilarating . . . compelling and believable.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“A well-told story of an empowering friendship.”—The Bulletin, Recommended

“This realistic portrayal of emotions, decisions, and hardships will appeal to teens who are also struggling with their identities.”—SLJ

“Blythe, in her first book for teens, explores karma, guilt, morality, and taking responsibility for one’s actions.  . . . the story provides a thoughtful glimpse of what it’s like to reevaluate one’s life at any age.”—Publisher’s Weekly
 
“This is a classic coming-of-age story . . . Faye’s personal growth and her eventual escape from a dark home life are rewarding.”—Booklist




About the Author
Carolita Blythe considers herself a Nuyuraican (New York Jamaican). She was born in Kingston, but grew up in Brooklyn and now lives in Los Angeles, where she works as a script supervisor for a variety of television programs.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile