The Winter Horses

By Philip Kerr
(Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780385755436, 288pp.)

Publication Date: March 25, 2014

Other Editions of This Title: Paperback

Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

From Philip Kerr, the New York Times bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of The Book Thief, Milkweed, and The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.

It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine.  But it's 1941, and things are different this year.  Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets—for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park.

Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings—everything but her life.  Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends—until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good.

Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses—and herself.




About the Author

Philip Kerr is the New York Times bestselling author of the WWII Bernie Gunther crime novels and the children's fantasy series Children of the Lamp.  He lives in England.




Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. In the note at the beginning of the novel, the author shares that, while there is no real evidence that the heroes of the story existed, “if there is one truth greater than all the others, it is that there are times when history must take second place to legend.” Do you agree? How would you define legend? What are some other examples of legends that overshadow history?

Indie Bookstore Finder











Update Profile