The Winter Horses

By Philip Kerr
(Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers, Hardcover, 9780385755436, 288pp.)

Publication Date: March 25, 2014

List Price: $16.99*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Description

From Philip Kerr, the "New York Times" bestselling author of the Bernie Gunther novels, comes a breathtaking journey of survival in the dark days of WWII in Ukraine, a country that remains tumultuous today. This inspiring tale captures the power of the human spirit and is perfect for fans of "The Book Thief, " "Milkweed," and "The" "Boy in the Striped Pajamas."
It will soon be another cold winter in the Ukraine. But it's 1941, and things are different this year. Max, the devoted caretaker of an animal preserve, must learn to live with the Nazis who have overtaken this precious land. He must also learn to keep secrets--for there is a girl, Kalinka, who is hiding in the park.
Kalinka has lost her home, her family, her belongings--everything but her life. Still, she has gained one small, precious gift: a relationship with the rare wild and wily Przewalski's horses that wander the preserve. Aside from Max, these endangered animals are her only friends--until a Nazi campaign of extermination nearly wipes them out for good.
Now Kalinka must set out on a treacherous journey across the frozen forest to save the only two surviving horses--and herself.




About the Author
Ne a Edimbourg en 1956, Philip Kerr a fait des etudes de droit avant de devenir journaliste. Il est egalement l'auteur de romans d'anticipation, de scenarios et de livres pour enfants qui ont rencontre un grand succes. Unanimement saluee par la critique et couronnee de nombreux prix, la serie centree autour de Bernie Gunther a fait de Philip Kerr un auteur reconnu dans le monde entier. Il est traduit dans plus de trente langues.


Conversation Starters from ReadingGroupChoices.com

CONVERSATION STARTERS

  1. In the note at the beginning of the novel, the author shares that, while there is no real evidence that the heroes of the story existed, “if there is one truth greater than all the others, it is that there are times when history must take second place to legend.” Do you agree? How would you define legend? What are some other examples of legends that overshadow history?

Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile