Occasions of Sin

Occasions of Sin Cover

Occasions of Sin

By Sandra Jean Scofield

W. W. Norton & Company, Hardcover, 9780393057355, 256pp.

Publication Date: January 9, 2004

Not since Mary Karr's "The Liar's Club" has a mother-daughter story captured so piercingly the mysteries of childhood. In 1959, when Sandra Scofield was 15, she came home to stay in West Texas. Writing on the brink of old age, she looks back ruefully but without bitterness, forgiving both her mother's frailty and her own.