Impounded

Dorothea Lange and the Censored Images of Japanese American Internment

By Dorothea Lange; Linda Gordon (Editor); Gary Okihiro (Editor)
W. W. Norton & Company, Hardcover, 9780393060737, 224pp.

Publication Date: November 2006

List Price: $29.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.




Description
This indelible work of visual and social history confirms Dorothea Lange's stature as one of the twentieth century's greatest American photographers. Presenting 119 images originally censored by the U.S. Army the majority of which have never been published "Impounded" evokes the horror of a community uprooted in the early 1940s and the stark reality of the internment camps. With poignancy and sage insight, nationally known historians Linda Gordon and Gary Okihiro illuminate the saga of Japanese American internment: from life before Executive Order 9066 to the abrupt roundups and the marginal existence in the bleak, sandswept camps. In the tradition of Roman Vishniac's "A Vanished World, Impounded," with the immediacy of its photographs, tells the story of the thousands of lives unalterably shattered by racial hatred brought on by the passions of war.



About the Author
Elizabeth Partridge is the goddaughter of Dorothea Lange and an award-winning author of numerous books. She lives in California.Dorothy Sue Cobble lives in Princeton, New Jersey, and teaches at Rutgers University, where she is the Distinguished Professor of History and Labor Studies.Gary Okihiro is a professor of international and public affairs and the founding director of the Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Race at Columbia University. He is author of ten books, including his latest two (part of a trilogy on space/time), "Island World: A History of Hawai i and the United States" (2008) and "Pineapple Culture: A History of the Tropical and Temperate Zones" (2009), both from the University of California Press. He is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Studies Association, received an honorary doctorate from the University of the Ryukyus, and is a past president of the Association for Asian American Studies.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound