Let's Pretend This Never Happened

A Mostly True Memoir

By Jenny Lawson
(Amy Einhorn Books, Hardcover, 9780399159015, 318pp.)

Publication Date: April 17, 2012

List Price: $25.95*
* Individual store prices may vary.
Shop Local
Enter your zip code below to find indies closest to you.

Go


Selected by Indie Booksellers for the May 2012 Indie Next List
“I just can't recommend Lawson's new memoir highly enough! However, my recommendation does come with a warning: Do not read this in public unless you want others staring at you and wondering if you've gone mad because you're laughing hysterically. The daughter of an off-kilter taxidermist and a mother, who, for the most part, turned her head the other way, Jenny has her issues resulting from standing inside a dead deer at a young age, growing up with live raccoons in the house, and being an arsonist at the age of three. Those embarrassing moments that we all wished had never happened? Well, Jenny tells all. Laughter really is the best medicine, so make sure you don't miss this one!”
-- Linda Grana, DIESEL, A Bookstore, Oakland


Description

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris—Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives—the ones we’d like to pretend never happened—are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: “Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel”; “A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband”; “My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking”; “And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.” Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.




About the Author
As a long-standing member of the AlphaPlus Consultancy, Jenny Lawson has devised many online tests for trainee teachers. Alongside her teaching and examining career, she has authored, and been the series editor for, numerous texts for ICT and mathematics from KeyStage 1 through to A Level and GNVQs. Now retired from full time teaching, Jenny focuses on her own writing and also offers mentoring for writers wanting to be published.
Indie Bookstore Finder
EBbooks and EReaders
Find great gifts: Signed books
Link to IndieBound






Update Profile